simplynaijaforum

GOD, DID YOU SPEAK?

In ESSAY on September 9, 2011 at 2:24 pm

CONVERSATION

 

God, Did You Speak?

Gbenga Ogundare- Editor, National Standard Magazine

 

Rebo-skere-mama
shibos-kilimama jili mama

Eresh she sie yaya
rebos skeke sese…

 

ja jiri ja-ja

papa piri piri-papa

 

Eli eli ja…

God, did you speak?

 

My name is Paitor Gunde Gbakare. I am a city man but not a stranger to the village man. You know me well-well before I started the cassock business. I am the only authentic Paitor in Nigeria who can look at any government in the face and tell them they’re corrupt, immoral and ungodly. I could talk to dictator Sani. I couldn’t bury my head before Tunde or Muhammadu. No be today…e don tey wey God de helep cow pursue flies.

 

You still don’t recognise me? Let me give you small of my degree and pedigree. To tell you I’ve got some affinity with Buhari; I came from a polygamous Moslem home. Like Gani, I also earned a degree in Law. In fact, when my co-fiery activist was alive, I employed him as my life. Yes, I could afford it –that’s just by the way.

 

My sermon today is directed towards all of you doubting Thomases and suicide-bombing bin Ladens. When all of you were sleeping, I was keeping vigils. On the night of my circumcision as a little boy, God showed me a vision of my life. Where were you when in 1994 when I founded the Latter Rain Assembly church an Apostolic Community of believers whose purpose is to carry forward the purpose of the Kingdom of Heaven on earth? I was doing business before my God called me. I brought Skoda into Nigeria . I had factories in Nigeria and I was doing well in international trade. I wanted to use both law and business to go into politics. That was my triangle.

 

Like Paul, the former Saul of Tarsus, me too I’m a man. And I will talk like a man. I will boast in the flesh due to the abundance of revelations given to me by my indefatigable God. For example, I warned Chief MKO Abiola (go ask him!) not to contest the 1993 presidential election; I told him he wouldn’t come out of it alive. I even said that neither SDP oh, nor NRC will attain political power. Didn’t the Evil Genius dabaru everything? Sebi, I even talk am say on or before 27th August 1993, the Bad BB would make mistakes that would make him go. Na dat one come make am step aside.

 

I also made the Ishbosheth factor prophecy. Remember ING? –the Interim National Government headed by Chief Ernest Shonekan. I said that as Ishbosheth was disgraced and his head cut off, so would Ernest be disgraced out of office. I even waka go Kano go announce say make dem make coffin for Sani– that very soon he would sleep and never wake up.

 

The scripture says when the righteous is in authority, the people rejoice, but when the wicked rule, they moan, they groan. Do we want to continue groaning? Politics is dirty because dirty people are in it. If clean men get there, they will equally clean the atmosphere. I am clean; therefore, I sought for the second-highest political office of my country. Should that make me any less godly? I don’t understand what some of you are shouting for? Shame on me? Shame on you too! Just because CPC lost? But God has not lost now.

 

Let me tell you the truth by the spirit of God, before 2007 I said none of OBJ, Atiku, IBB and this tall one, Muhammadu, are part of the new. They are part of the old that is decaying. That old one is passing away. The new is emerging and these ones are not part of that new. Yes, I said none of them will be part of the new Nigeria . The new is coming forth. It is the counsel of the Lord that shall stand in this nation. Until the sons of turmoil destroy themselves, this nation will not know peace. Na me talk am.

 

But you press people did not quote me accurately. What I was saying was in 2006 October. I said some of these old men should allow young men to operate, to come into power. But the truth of it is that emphasis of the hour. The current emphasis of the hour is not generational shift but generational integration so that older and the younger can come together as demonstrated by Chief Obafemi Awolowo and Yakubu Gowon.  Awolowo could father Gowon. He was 57 when Gowon was 30; they worked together to save Nigeria from that terrible time of our people in cold blood. Time has come for the young and the old, male and female to cooperate together and move on. 2006 quotation is not applicable to 2011. That was then, this is now.

 

In 2007, did they become president? They didn’t. That was my opinion for 2007. I didn’t say 2011 and I didn’t say they would never be president forever. Definitely, it is different. Remember, that is not peculiar to man. Even God Almighty spoke to Eli and said: “I said; now I say.” It is in the Bible. So, proceeding word is not what was said but the proceeding word of the hour is: this is the time of change. Nigeria has embraced this change.

 

You press people, you like to mix past with the present too much. Now you’ve heard it all. God allowed me to run as a running mate of a former dictator. You all know he’s now born again. I have told you how he called me and how I consulted the oracles –sorry, how I fasted and prayed for sixteen days and sixteen nights till the day of election.

 

I called this press conference to exorcise the demons of mis-attribution and misquotation possessing all of you. And to break the barrier of disbelief amongst you who are thinking I might have had malaria fever when I informed the world that God spoke to me to pair up with Muhammadu. Thank you. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

